LPP strapline

Medicines Optimisation & Pharmacy Procurement

The Medicines Optimisation and Pharmacy Procurement workstream delivers cost effective prices on medicines and related products, and also supports the London-wide QIPP work on medicines use and procurement.

Medicines cost the NHS £2 billion a year in London alone, split equally between Clinical Commissioning Groups (mainly GP prescriptions) and acute and mental health trusts. Hospital medicine expenditure is rising by about 12 percent a year, partly due to the introduction of new high cost medicines.

We work to encourage prescribing which is both clinically effective and cost effective by establishing clinical guidelines for high cost treatments. We also encourage the use of non-branded medicines or changing from one type of medicine to another where appropriate.

We work in two distinct areas, primary care and secondary care.

We help NHS organisations by:

  • making savings on a range of pharmacy and related products;
  • providing pan-London pricing so each hospital pays the same price;
  • ensuring compliance with EU regulations;
  • keeping NHS organisations up-to-date on new medicines, medicines coming off patent and changes to the market;
  • working with NHS organisations on guidelines for the use of medicines;
  • providing monthly benchmarking, savings and cost avoidance data.

For more details, download our current workplan. (Please note this document is for members only and you will have to be logged in to view it.)

Our People

NameTitleTelephoneEMail
Aisha Achha Pharmacy Project Manager 020 7188 6697 aisha.achha@lpp.nhs.uk
Azhar Saleem GP Specialist to MOPP 020 7188 6697 azhar.saleem@nhs.net
Darush Attar-Zadeh Pharmacist 07961 393032 darush.attar-zadeh@barnetccg.nhs.uk
Jackie Eastwood Outsourced Medicines Supply Services Coordinator 07500 573068 jacqueline.eastwood@lpp.nhs.uk
Jas Khambh Pharmacy & Medicines Optimisation Lead, Primary Care 020 7188 6689 jas.khambh@lpp.nhs.uk
Pauline Mccalla Lead Cancer Pharmacist 07500 577921 pauline.mccalla@nhs.net
Phil Aubrey Medicines Optimisation and Pharmacy Procurement Secondary Care Lead 07795 841694 philip.aubrey@nhs.net
Rebecca Fisher Dietitian Project Manager 0207 188 6680 rebecca.fisher@lpp.nhs.uk
Stephanie Hibbs Pharmacy Procurement and Contracts Manager 020 3313 0376 stephanie.hibbs@imperial.nhs.uk
Vicky Chaplin Project Pharmacist 020 7188 7329 victoria.chaplin@lpp.nhs.uk